Scholarship fund hosts tournament

Submitted photos BYOP winners from left are, Dave Hewitt, Matt Hewitt, Seth Cottrill, Dennis Cottrill, Eddie Justice and Wally Justice.

BELINGTON — The Mikey Hart Memorial Scholarship Fund hosted its inaugural cornhole tournament and chicken barbecue June 29 at the Belington Volunteer Fire Department.

Thirty-nine people competed in the blind-draw tournament, with first-place winner Dennis Cottrill, second-place winners Genie Reese and Jerry Tasker and third-place winners Matt Hewitt and Eddie Justice.

The Bring Your Own Partner Tournament had 17 teams competing for a first-place prize of $400. Winners for the BYOP Tournament were as follows, first-place Dennis Cottrill and Seth Cottrill from Fairmont, second-place Eddie Justice and Wally Justice from Mingo County and third-place Dave Hewitt and Matt Hewitt from Elkins. The tournament was put on by 304 Cornholers.

All proceeds from these events went to the Mikey Hart Memorial Scholarship Fund to help continue offering scholarships in the fire sciences and EMS fields in Mike’s memory.

The Scholarship Fund has given over 40 scholarships to qualified recipients over the past 10 years.

Blind Draw winners from left are, first row, Dennis Cottrill; second row, Matt Hewitt, Eddie Justice, Genie Reese and Jerry Tasker.

For more information regarding the scholarship, contact Judy Weese at judyhartmywish@yahoo.com.