D&E Writers’ Series hosts poetry author Rebecca Gayle Howell

ELKINS — The 20th annual D&E Writers’ Series will host award-winning poetry author Rebecca Gayle Howell Tuesday and Wednesday. The two-day event will include a creative writing workshop and poetry reading, both free and open to the public, on the Davis & Elkins College campus.

The workshop begins at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Community Room of Booth Library and is open to anyone interested in enhancing their creative writing skills. Howell will present a reading of her work at 7 p.m. Wednesdayin the Great Hall of Halliehurst. A book signing and reception will take place afterward.

Howell’s most recent collection, “American Purgatory” was selected for Great Britain’s 2016 Sexton Prize and was named a must-read by Poetry London, The Millions and the Courier-Journal. She is also the author of “Render/An Apocalypse,” which was selected for Cleveland State University Poetry Center’s 2013 First Book Prize. The work received wide critical acclaim, most notably by David L. Ulin for the Los Angeles Times who called the book “remarkable.” Howell’s debut was as the translator of Amal al-Jubouri’s feminist verse memoir of the Iraq War, “Hagar Before the Occupation / Hagar After the Occupation” (Alice James Books). The book received the Jules Chametzky Prize in Translation, was selected by Library Journal as a Best Book of Poetry for 2011, and shortlisted for the Best Translated Book Award.

Among Howell’s other honors are fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and the Carson McCullers Center, as well as a Pushcart Prize.

A native of Kentucky, Howell is poetry editor for the award-winning national magazine Oxford America and the James Still Writer-in-Residence at the Hindman Settlement School where she leads the Appalachian Writers Workshop.

The D&E Writers’ Series has a long tradition of bringing award-winning writers to campus. Among the past presenters are Marc Harshman, Ann Pancake, Silas House, Gwen Rubio, Maggie Anderson, Michael Chitwood, Mark Nowak, Karen McElmurray, Irene McKinney, Judson Mitchum, Liz Robbins, Jim Clark and Lynelle Edwards.