BOE to make RIF decisions

ELKINS — After holding two special meetings for personnel hearings this week, the Randolph County Board of Education told concerned employees and members of the public that no decisions will be made until Monday.

Following a more than seven-hour special meeting Tuesday regarding personnel transfers, BOE members held another special meeting Wednesday for Reduction in Force (RIF) recommendations proposed by Superintendent Gabriel “Gabe” Devono. Wednesday’s meeting lasted more than six hours, during which the board met in executive session for the final hour and 30 minutes.

Amanda Smith, board president, apologized to those in attendance after the board’s executive session, saying a vote would not be held on any of the proposed recommendations made by Devono.

“I will apologize to you that we were in executive session longer than we anticipated,” she said. “We dutifully did try to reach a consensus enough to give you a vote tonight; however, we determined a few minutes ago that it was just simply not possible. … I’m sorry to keep you all from your homes so late — you have my sincerest apologies for doing that. We thought we could do it tonight, but it was just getting away quicker than anything was being resolved.”

Rachel Anger, board vice-president, added the board had a copious amount of material to review in order to make decisions.

The board will meet again at 4:30 p.m. Monday to further review material presented by county employees and to then vote on each recommendation.

Several employees have been recommended for “transfer,” either within their current school or to a school outside of their current placement.

The proposed transfers of Randolph County Schools professional employees include the following: Audrey Fulmer, Katie Mallow, Amanda Carter, Jennifer Parker, Christina Thomas, Kelly Teter, Kristin Teter, Charlotte Armentrout, Cassie Adkins, Monica Leigh, Wendy Thurston, Michael Johnson, Tiffany Oldaker, Julia Nestor, Roohi Khan and Jill Zurbuch. Further details will be printed in The Inter-Mountain after the board’s vote on Monday.

In addition, the proposed transfer of RCS service personnel include the following: Teresa Blosser, Candace Shrader, Laura Johnson, Christina Hedrick, Crystal White, Tammy Lothes, Ashley Sitton, Sarah Hevener-Murray, Robin Davis, Annetta Ogden, Tricia Haden, Deborah Ratzer, Nelma Piercy, Ruth Ann Bennett, William Riddle IV.

A number of employees were also recommended for RIF.

The proposed termination of professional employees include the following: Ellen Fortney, Patrick Binns, Jodi Burke, Brittany Wamsley, Katherine Koontz, Kaylee Rosencrance, Kaela Harris, Mary Lanham, Ernest Gooding, Natalie Josimovich, Rebecca Weese, Declan McGill, Donald Hepler, Lynn Proudfoot and Marcilla Hebb.

In addition, the proposed termination of service personnel include the following: Steven Woody, Casey Hedrick, Rebecca George, Penny Smith and Helen Manolidis. Further details will be printed in The Inter-Mountain after Monday’s meeting.

All proposed transfers and RIFs listed are according to Wednesday’s special meeting agenda.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)