Class of 2019

207 seniors graduate from Elkins High School

The Inter-Mountain photo by Anthony Gaynor Members of the Elkins High School class of 2019 make their way out of the gymnasium after receiving their diplomas Friday.

ELKINS — More than 200 Elkins High School students crossed the stage Friday evening, sharing in their accomplishments during their graduation commencement ceremony.

The 207 graduates of the Elkins High School class of 2019 gathered in the packed gymnasium to celebrate, alongside friends and family.

Michael DiBacco and Liam Gongola tied as the students with the highest grade point average in the class and served as co-valedictorians, while Danny Corely was salutatorian. The three offered words of encouragement to their fellow graduates.

Gongola credited his childhood in Elkins for allowing him to entertain himself in creative and unexpected ways.

“I used to fear being trapped in a provincial life. However, as I’ve been forced into adulthood, I’ve come to the realization that living in Elkins is not a predicament at all. Rather, it’s been a blessing that has shaped my personality and gifted me with the ability to disregard how others, and even I, perceive myself when pursuing joy,” he said. “For many years, the charming spirit of Elkins eluded me. I failed to find its allure. I can say with confidence that a pessimistic attitude, like the one I lugged around for so long, can make even the most vibrant metropolis seem drab and mundane. I’ve managed to create wholesome fun despite the draw of fabricated amusement. Had I lived somewhere with more traditional forms of entertainment, I can confidently say that I would not be able to make fun out of nothing.”


DiBacco imparted advice onto his classmates for beginning the next chapter of their lives.

“Make good on the gift of life,” he said. “Leave something of value in the world, no matter how small or fleeting it may seem. Become a loving parent, practice an art, show forgiveness when all reason tells you it is not deserved. Find happiness in a job well done or a day well spent. Ask little and give much. Ensure that those that you love know that this is so. Become a more credible witness to life’s wonders, recognizing the responsibility entailed in each rising and the freedom we possess to render any possible real.”

Corley noted the possibilities unfolding before him and his fellow graduates were completely in their hands as they crossed the metaphoric bridge to adulthood.

“Today in this moment we say goodbye to high school, step into adulthood and decide the person we want to be. How you see the world changes how you approach it,” he said. “Just know the world is ours to change. Our possibilities are limitless.”

Students and faculty wore green ribbons to the graduation ceremony in honor of Alex Pritt, an EHS senior who was recently diagnosed with lymphoma.


Senior class officers for the EHS class of 2019 were Susan Riggleman, president; Sarah Riggleman, vice president; and Kaeli Ricottilli, secretary. Members of the senior class council were Kiley Calain, Hannah Haddix, Alli Hopwood, Ethan Mallow, and Kassie Miller. The class flower was the sunflower, and the class colors were black and gold. The class motto was, “Looking Fine Class of One Nine.”

Graduates of the Elkins High School class of 2019 include:

Michael Thomas DiBacco, Liam Wilson Gongola, Daniel M. Corley, Elisabeth Hannah Jo Butcher, Noah Lewis Richard Carr, Shaylen Celeste Chenoweth, Emma Mary Chua, Cole Patrick Crumm, Ty Hunter Flynn, Matthew Wilkes Gainer, Mikayla Sue Goins, Hannah Joan Haddix, Mara Allegra Looney-Sanders, Casey Alysse Mahoney, Kassandra Bree Miller, Kaeli Marisa Ricottilli, Susan Elizabeth Riggleman, Daniel Matthew Rubianto, Kyleigh Morgan Smith, Brennon Christopher Weese, Ethan James Wilson, Alisha Dawn Arbogast, Caitlynn Rose Arnott, Kaitlyn Mackenzie Auvil, Nicholas Alexander Baines, Autumn Leeann Baker, Anthonie Neil Ballheim, Morgan Grace Barnett, Garrett Sherman Bender, Hunter Allen Bender, Alan Herbert Bennett, Easton Scott Birchfield, Jacob Isaiah Bonds, Henry Joseph Bonetti, Brittney Dannielle Booth, Andrew Austin Buck, Chance Allen Burdette, Kenneth Malichi Burnside, Ashley Marie Burrows, Kiley Jaden Calain, Shelby Grace Calain, Joshua Michael Cantwell, Megan Marie Carter, Steven Edward Caynor II, Briana Nicole Celli, Tessa Soela Chenoweth, Calista Elizabeth Chewning, Devin Alexander Coger, Jeremiah David Coger, Jeyna Brooke Collett, Britney Michelle Collins, Shayla Brooke Collins, Jarrett S. Cook, Nathan C. Cooper, Caleb S. Corbitt, Jessica Lynn Crouse, Brian Ty Currence, Sydney Jocelyn Currence, Brooklyn Nadia D’Angelo, Kirsten Hope Daman, Benjamin Woodrow Davis, Cassie L. Diaz, Levi Shawn Dilly, Destiny Lee Donegia, Connor Ryan Edenfield, Frank Doyle Edmond, Dylan Shawn Ferguson, Geoffrey Shane Ferguson, Ashley Nicole Fortney, Scott Gregory Fox, Austin Robert Fraley, Nevaeh Rose Franks, Abiel Gallagher-Reyes, Garrett Lewis Gassnola, Cody James Gatehouse, Jullian Spencer George, Jessica Alexis Gibson, Hailey Faith Goss, Amber Nichole Gower, Skyler Ray Greene, Caleb Michael Haas, Allysun Lynn Hammond, Jacob Lee Hamrick, Tyler Edward Hamrick, Rhianna Elise Hardy, Arthur James Harmon, Kylie Rose Harper, Haley Anne Harris, Heather Anne Harris, Andrew Walker Hart, Madison Paige Hart, John Michael Healey, Aidan Garland Hedrick, Nonthaya Barbara Joanna High, Alli Rene Hopwood, Dustin Blake Howell, Greyson Robert Howell, Adam Leon Huffman, Addison Grace Huffman, Brenlyn Elizabeth Hutson, Alexis Lee Ice, Brandon Michael Isenhart, Joseph Benjamin Jenkins, Kassandra Christine Johnson, Joshua D. Johnston, Ariel Marie Jones, Orrin M. Jones, Erika Nicole Kelley, Chrisstopher Blair Kiess, Dylan Michael Kittle, Ashley Paige Lambert, Nathaniel Hunter Lavinder, Trevor Thad Linn, Kristin Faith Lopez, Coby Ryan Louk, Daniel L. Louk, Alyssa Jade Maize, Ariel Brooke Mallow, Ethan Jacob Mallow, Emily Grace Manley, Katherine Elise Markley, Salena Faith Martin, Caleb Wayne McBride, Kodi Franklin McCauley, Meghan Brooke Merritt, Hunter W. Mouse, Linsee Hope Mullennex, Madison Elizabeth Myers, Rachel Ellen Nestor, Jessica Anh Nguyen, Jacob Curtis Nichols, William Chase Noel, Dylan Levi Partlow, Peggy-Dawn Jean Petrice, Brian L. Phillips, Dominique Summer Phillips, Dylon A. Phillips, Hannah Grace Phillips, Jordan Isabelle Mae Phillips, Taylor Madison Phillips, Carla Renee Posey, Austin David Poyner, Robert Charles Preston, Alexander Thomas Pritt, Lillian Alexis Pritt, Linzey Marie Pritt, Austyn G. Rau, Joshua Keith Reckart, Ellen Richelle Reed, Jared D. Reel, Ani Ruth Reger, Emilee Jade Riffle, Sarah Diane Riggleman, Laura Sofia Rivera Lopez, Selena Marie Robinette, Daniel Scott Romans, Eric Nicholas Ross, Sara Kaitlyn Ross, Logan Dellis Rowan, Noah Jacob Rowan, Tiara Sashae Rowe, Thea Marie Salisbury, Joseph Paul Satterfield, Steven Read Schumacher, Feliciano Flint Schwab, Hunter Bryan Scott, Cody M. Shobe, Rochelle Nicole Shoulders, Mykaila Dawn Shreve, Liliana Kathryn Sigley, Garrett Ryan Silvester, Grant Allen Simmons, William Hunter Simmons, Scott Marlin Simpson, Jesse H. Skidmore, Abby Leigh Smith, Allison Jane Smith, Courtney Nicole Smith, Haley Jean Smith, Keegan P. Smith, James Ashley Smoak, Madison Mae Snodgrass, Christopher David Stalnaker, Makayla Leeanne Stanley, Austin Dean Storey, Madison McKenzie Storey, Taylor Elizabeth Summerfield, Kendall Marie Swecker, Amber Dawn Talbott, Thomas Aaron Talkington, Jesse Elizabeth Tallman, Sierra Noel Tate, Bryce Sarin Taylor, Chloie Brett Taylor, Shelby Nicole Tincher, Chase Ryan Vance, Bryce Wayne Watson, Alexia Hope Weese, Koragon Mackenzie Weirich, Nichloas Joseph Westfall, Elliot Bryan White, Donovan Blaine Wiles, Alyssa Kay Williams, Barrius Drake Wilmoth, Caleb Cole Workman, Ryan Ray Zikefoose and Kelcie Rayann Zirkle.



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)