Four competing to be Elkins mayor

ELKINS — Four residents have filed to run for mayor in the Elkins municipal election, with the candidate filing period ending Friday.

Andrew Carroll, of Buffalo Street, filed for the mayor’s race this week, joining Fourth Ward Councilwoman Karen Wilmoth, of High Street, D.C. Talkington, of South Kerens Avenue, and Jerry Marco Jr., of Ferndale Drive.

Mayor Van Broughton announced earlier this fall that he would not seek re-election.

Every seat on the ballot in March will be contested, following this week’s filings.

In First Ward, incumbent Robert C. Chenoweth, of Bridgewater Drive, has filed, as has Phillips B. Kolsun, of Sylvester Drive, and Travis Norwood, of Lavalette Avenue.

In Second Ward, incumbent Charles H. Friddle III, of Mountainview Drive, is being challenged by Carman Pennington, of Baxter Street.

In Third Ward, incumbent Carman L. Metheny, of Hanley Street, will face challenger Clint Higgins, of Capitol Street.

In Fourth Ward, Elizabeth Marshall-MacVean, of Elm Street, will be running along with former Fourth Ward council member Nanci Bross-Fregonara, of Boundary Avenue. The Fourth Ward incumbent, Wilmoth, will vacate the seat after her current term as she is running for mayor.

Fifth Ward incumbent David C. Parker, of Henry Avenue, will be challenged by Howard Knapp II, of First Street, and Burley Woods, of Davis Street.

In-person filing closed as of 4:30 p.m. Friday. However, additional candidates may still be added if their signed, notarized filing paperwork, with payment for filing fee, is received by mail postmarked no later than Friday.

Mayors are elected to a two-year term. Mayors appear on the ballot in all five city wards at every election.

Council members are elected to four-year terms. Two council members are elected from each of the city’s five wards, for a total of 10 council members.

The two council members from each ward are elected to staggered terms, so that only one member from each ward faces election at each biannual election.

Voting on the March 2 election day will be from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the following polling locations:

First Ward — Church of God Family Worship Center at1402 Taylor Ave.

Second Ward — Mountain State Forest Festival Building, 101 Lough St.

Third Ward — Day’s Inn at 1200 Harrison Ave.

Fourth Ward — Randolph County Courthouse Annex at 4 Randolph Ave.

Fifth Ward — Elkins City Hall at 401 Davis Ave.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today