The Next Step

The Inter-Mountain photos by Brooke Binns Elkins High School celebrated the class of 2022 Friday evening during the school’s commencement ceremony. Pictured from left are Anna Belan, class president; Anna Crumm, class salutatorian; and Luke Anger, class valedictorian.

ELKINS — Elkins High School celebrated the class of 2022 Friday evening during its annual commencement ceremony.

Luke Anger, valedictorian for the EHS class of 2022, opened by asking everyone in the audience to stand and joking that if nothing else, he received a standing ovation during his address honoring his graduating class.

“I remember my first year here. I was too afraid to talk to anyone. I always finished my homework fast, I always listened and I was always quiet,” Anger said. “But growing up with all of you helped me open up.”

Anger went on to encourage his classmates to achieve their goals and “be what you aspire to be.”

“My best advice to you as we embark on a new chapter is that ‘inspiration shouldn’t be found on a quote, but rather in one’s self.’ I definitely didn’t get that from a fortune cookie,” he joked. “We are and will be what we aspire to be. What I am trying to say is that, I’ve had the pleasure of growing up with you, all of you. You don’t need me to tell you how to live your life. Go live it! Be what you aspire to be!”

Rachel Anger, member of the Randolph County Board of Education, presents her son and Elkins High School class of 2022 valedictorian, Luke Anger, with his high school diploma.

Anna Crumm, class salutatorian, encouraged her classmates to create their own path with “thoughtful consideration.”

“If you make all your choices with thoughtful consideration, you will be able to look back and know that you made the right decision, and that will make all the difference,” she said.

During her commencement address, Crumm referenced a poem she and many fellow classmates had analyzed during sixth grade called “The Road Not Taken.”

Crumm quoted several lines from the poem written by Robert Frost.

“I shall be telling this with a sigh; somewhere ages and ages hence, two roads diverged in a wood, and I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference,” she read.

“Even though we have a choice in our lives, family, friends and social media still influence our decisions,” she said. “In the end, travel down the road that is best for you; dedicate your own path.”

EHS class of 2022 graduates include the following students:

Lucas Ray Anger, Alexander Reeve Arbogast, Emily Rose Arbogast, Noah Philip Backus, David Alexander Bailey, Skyla Maire Baldwin, Cobey Thomas Balint, Nicholas Morgan Barrickman, Nayo Marie Friend-Barroso, Chase Guy Victor Bedford, Anna Grace Belan, Jacob Allen Bender, Holli Nicole Bennett, Mackinze LeaAnn Bennett, Lane Alton Blake, Zakkary Ryan Bonner, Dustin James Brady, Zoe Mackenzie Branca, Lance Franklin Brickle, Cassandra Faith Mae Brown, Faith Katherine Brown, Aiden James Burkhammer, Savannah Nicole Burns, Alie Jane Cain, Benjamin Blair Carowick, Devon Wade Channell, Conner Wayne Channels, Albert Ronald Chewning, Mackenzie Nicole Childers, Lee Joseph Chua, Maya Ann Clary, Silas Anthony Cochran, Benjamin James Collett, Sara Dawn Collins, Cheyenne Faith Cone, Ian Wade Copenhaver, Lukas Neal Corder, Madison Brooke Cox, Mackenzie Brooke Crites, Hannah Faith Cross, Justin Darrell Cross, Cullen Patrick Crosston, Anna Grace Crumm, Malachi Joseph Currence, Raven Cheyanne Currence, Madison Noel Davis, Jordan Marie Derring, Alannah Rose Deusenberry, Skyler Rae Devericks, Ryan Paul DiBacco, Lauren Taylor Dodds, Kolbi Levi Doerr, Tyler Rick Dudley, Caleb Michael Dunmire, Kaleigh Elysse Edwards, Aaron Curtis Elliott, Austin McGraw Elliott, Shawn Donald Ennis, Kevin Maxwell Stuart Evix, Tanner Kole Gainer, Alejandro Isaac Garcia, Dakota Austin Gates, Cody Douglas Gibson, Sophia Mae Gillispie, David Lee Gongola, Jacob Truman Greene, Bella Kathryn Grose-Phares, Owen Tyler Haddix, Rheanna Dawn Haney, Hunter James Harman, Lukas Robert Harman, Brianna Elaine Harper, Holly Melissa Harper, Austin David Harris, Alissa Catherine Healey, Elwood Lynn Hebb Jr., Gavin Lee Heckler, Alexis Nicole Hedrick, Madalyn Elizabeth Hickman, Jacob Hunter Higgins, Joshua Trent Hinkle, Aaliyah Jade Hogue, Dalton Hunter Howell, Katie Lynn Howell, Evan Michael Humphrey, Logan Paul Hutchison, Brayden Lee Dallas Jack, Barbara Anne Jessop, Nevaeh Dawn Johnson, Nicholas Junior Johnson, Christopher Anthony Jones, Isabelle Ann Judy, Tyler Chad Judy, Braxton Hull Kenney, Donald Eugene Kisner, Cesilee Mae Lambert, Austin Lee Lanham, Mariah Victoria Paige Lanham, Aiden Drake Lantz, Logan Douglas Lantz, Brazzon Chance Leary-Metzler, John Patrick Leonard, Brooke Caroline Louk, Johnathon Dylan Luffman, Jade Royal Magee, Danielle Macey Mahanes, Gauge Dakota Manolidis, Trenton Jace Marino, Jada Ruth Marks, Cordelia Dawn Martin, Tessa Nicole Martin, Emily Elizabeth McCauley, Michael Boyd McCauley, Tyler Chase McKisic, Gracie Mae Metheny, Victoria Grace Metz, Emalee Carlea Miller, Kaia Jeanette Miller, Luke Ellison Miller, Austin Tyler Mullenex, Addison Brooke Murphy, Nicholas Lee Myers, Jade Keana Neubauer, Emmilee Karson New, Tabitha Aalairah Lynn Jean Nutter, Zora Lynn Pennington, Devin Richard Petrice, Ana Marie Phillips, Camden Michael Poe, Ricky Franklin Poe, Haiden Michael Ponikvar, Jarrett Dayton Prichard, Sophia Anne Putnam, Delilah Mae Queen, Annmarie Rosa Raschella, Tyler Travis Ray, Macy Burke Reckart, Lexi Marie Reger, Makylie Alexis Rinehart, Mallory Shae Roberts, Seth David Robinson, Abagail Madison Kay Ross, Andrew Tyler Ross, Destiny Grace Ross, Brandon Joseph Rossi, Cameron Reese Rowan, Gracie Margaret Rowe, Halle Grace Roy, Samuel Ryder Schoonover, Bailey Nicholle Scott, Trenton Alan Scott, McKenzie LeeShaffer, Danyelle Rose Sharp, Andrew Jayden Shiflett, Kylee Faith Shoulders, Hunter Gage Shreve, Jaydon Malaki Shreve, Lyndsey Paige Simmons, Debra Ann Smith, Jacob Ray Smith, Joshua Hunter James Smith, Keenan Reid Rowan Smith, Kylie Marie Smith, Levi Derallen Smith, Charles Fletcher Smoak, Colten John Stasny, Daisy Eileen Stemple, Natalia Darlene Stewart, Kaitlynn Jade Stone, Asa Cohen Streets, Natlie Jane Sutton, Kelsey Dawn Swecker, Madisyn SueAnn Talbott, Isaac Logan Talkington, Hunter Lee Taylor, Kenneth Ray Teter Jr., Tristan Thomas Thorne, Alexandra Lee Triplett, Lainey Joy Tyre, Destiny Dawn Vance, Elijah Marcellus Viola, Madeline Rae Walls, Sydney Jo Wamsley, Paityn Marie Ware, Joshua Garrett Warner, William Chase Watson, Addisyn Grace Waybright, Hannah Marie Wegman, Ravyn Morganne Weirich, Izaak Dawson Whetsell, Naudia Nicole White, Thomas Daniel Williams, Ashley Maire Wolford and Austyn Raye Wyatt.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $3.92/week.

Subscribe Today