Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Riley, Glenn lead squads

Several area players make second team

March 20, 2013
By Joey Kittle Sports Editor , The Inter-Mountain

Lewis County's John Riley has been named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year.

Riley, a 6-5, 230-pound junior center, averaged 24.5 points and 13.6 rebounds this season in leading the Minutemen to a sectional title and berth in the regional finals.

Joining Riley on the first team are Bridgeport's Tyler Sprouse and Jordan Haywood, Fairmont Senior's Travon Horton and Jarin Hilson, Preston's Jimmy Galusky and Mitchell Koch, and North Marion's Cameron Wilson.

Article Photos

The Inter-Mountain file photo
Lewis County’s John Riley puts up a shot during regional final action against Washington. Riley has been named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year

Hilson and Galusky are both juniors.

Elkins' Logan Phillips, Buckhannon-Upshur's Dalton Westfall and Philip Barbour's Quentin Mouser were named to the second team, along with Robert C. Byrd's Devonti Birch and Iziah Hill, Liberty's Jason Morris, North Marion's Matt Cain and East Fairmont's John Bowman.

Barry Sanders of league champion Preston was the coach of the year.

The Big 10 girls' first-team included North Marion's Anna Marie Moscufo and Audia Bartlett, Robert C. Byrd's Alicia Noble and Sarah Barksdale, Bridgeport's Miki Glenn, Liberty's Heather Hickman, Fairmont Senior's Emily Stoller, Preston's Carly Kelley, Grafton's Kari Fawcett and Lincoln's Emily Knight.

The second team features Elkins' Ashley Simmons and Logan Dudley, B-U's Kelsey Hinzman, Philip Barbour's Lindsay?Riley, Lewis County's Brooklyn Perkey, Fairmont Senior's Kelsey Merrone and Jennifer Bundy, East Fairmont's Brooklyn Weaver, Lincoln's Haley Hanning and Makayla McElwayne, Bridgeport's Hannah Fetty and Raina Young, Grafton's Hannah Griffith and Preston's M.J. Braham.

Glenn, who led the Lady Indians to state and conference titles, was the player of the year, while Bridgeport's Dave Marshall was coach of the year.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web