Murphy captures Modified special at Elkins Raceway

Photo courtesy of T&C Motorsports Photography Jamie Keene celebrates after winning her second straight Holbrooks on the Hill Street Stocks race last Friday at Elkins Raceway.

KERENS — A great night of action was held last Friday at Elkins Raceway.

The UMP Modifieds had their night in the spotlight as Dave Defibaugh tripped the clock the quickest with a 16.118 second lap. After Defibaugh, Anthony Arbogast and Mike Murphy grabbed prelim honors and the stage was set.

Defibaugh shot to the point with Arbogast on his tail. As the yellow fell often, laps one, two, five, seven and a restart of seven.

Murphy had made his way to second and began to reel in Defibaugh. Daniel Hill had also made his presence known as the trio blasted through traffic. Hill shredded a right rear tire on lap 20. On the ensuing restart Murphy drove by Defibaugh for the lead and never look back. It was Murphy’s second trip to victory lane.

Defibaugh had his best finish of the year at second. In his first outing, Nick Corbitt finished third and Phill Jeffries and Michael Moreland were fourth and fifth, respectively.

For the second time this season, Shane Hitt had the fastest lap (14.607) in the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models.

In the finale, Logan Hitt quickly took the front spot and drove a methodical smooth pace. While getting by the first back markers easily, the next group slowed his pace.

By lap 15, Paul Wilmoth Jr. had closed in on Hitt. The next five circuits were hampered by five caution flags. When the green waved gain on lap 23, Wilmoth peeked under Hitt but could not make a move.

On lap 25, the duo were door-to-door. The two battled fiercely, as Wilmoth held a slight advantage with four to go. On the next go round, Wilmoth moved out to a car-length lead. Wilmoth would drive his Midcap Land and Timber No. B1 onto claim his second checkerboard. Hitt crossed in second. Cody Hardesty was third. Steve Wilmoth (in his first outing with the retro Post owned Mark 5 paint scheme) was fourth and Shane Hitt fifth.

For the second straight week in the Budweiser Fastrak Late Models, Michael Bland quickly took command. Unlike last week when a caution with just three laps to go put Logan Roberson on his deck lid. With three to go this week, Roberson was about three car lengths back. But Roberson crept up to Bland with one to go. Roberson tried last week’s move to no avail.

As the checkerboard was in the air, last week Roberson drove to the high side. This week he dove to the inside. And with a sprint car slide job, slide under and up in front of Bland exiting turn four for the lead and win. After two weeks of leading 24 3/4 laps, Bland had to settle for second again. Trey Watson, Garrett Paugh and Billy Beachler rounded out the top five. It was Roberson’s third win on the season.

In the Holbrooks on the Hill Street Stocks, Josh Rovello had a second and two third-place finishes and was looking to better that.

Behind him, last week’s winner Jamie Keene and two-time winner James Swenskie were battling door-to-door.

But with two circuits to go, Swenskie slowed bringing out the yellow. On the restart, Keene got the jump and grabbed the point and wouldn’t let it go for her second consecutive trip to victory lane. Rovello, Chris McDonald, Ronald Pyles and Swenskie completed the top five.

Brandon McGrady shot to the point at the outset of the Hot Mod finale and look poised to stay there. Just as the crossed flags were given, McGrady slipped just a little in turn four as he and second running, Tom Sigler touched. McGrady had to let up as Sigler drove on for the eventual win. Dusty Harper, Dylan Henkins, McGrady, and Daniel Helmick were second through fifth, respectively.

Going into the fifth night, there was a question in both the Mini Mod classes. In the Juniors that question was answered quickly as Brad Currence easily drove away for his fifth straight first- place trophy. As Cole Tasker and Declan Carpenter finished behind.

The question was the same in the Mini Mod Senior division if Noah Whited could claim his fifth in a row. Gunner Binns tried his best only to come up about half-a-cart length short.

Brett Howell, Jakob Barrett and Blake Runyon were third through fifth, respectively.

The month of June comes to a close with the candy rush for the kids this week.

Next week will be the Mid-Season Championship with double points in all classes. Plus the area’s first fireworks display.

Two huge shows next month are the third annual Red Fredrick Memorial worth $5,200 to the winner in the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models on July 6 and the ninth annual Richard Skidmore Memorial on July 20, as $5K will be up fro grabs in the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models.

Also the 2019 Wall of Fame class induction and the traditional huge fireworks display.


Jenkins Ford Super Late Models (11): Paul Wilmoth Jr. (2), Logan Hitt, Cody Hardesty, Steve Wilmoth, Shane Hitt, Billy Holbert, Nick Tressler, D Jay Miller, Shaun Poling, Dylan Lewis, Ace Howdyshelt. Heat 1: Hardesty. Heat 2: L. Hitt.

Budweiser Fastrak Late Models (18): Logan Roberson (3), Michael Bland, Trey Watson, Garrett Paugh, Billy Beachler, Kyle Thomas, Craig Daft, Donnie Dotson, Derrick Shaw, Kaitlyn Frazier, Luke Hyre, Troy Frazier, Shane Greco, Garrett Jones, Lucas McDonald, Hayden Jacobs, Chandi Currence, Tyler Foster. Heat 1: Bland. Heat 2: Roberson. Heat 3: Watson.

UMP Modified (18): Mike Murphy (2), Dave Defibaugh, Nick Corbitt, Phill Jeffries, Michael Moreland, Matthew Chenoweth, Kenny Rowback, Brad Harris, Randy Bise, Anthony Arbogast, Daniel Hill, Jamie McCloud, Larry Yanero, Presley Wilt, Tommy Powell, Dustin Isner, Sam Henderson, Tyler Payne. Heat 1: Defibaugh. Heat 2: Arbogast. Heat 3: Murphy.

Holbrooks on the Hill Street Stocks (11): Jamie Keene (2), Josh Rovello, Chris McDonald, Ronald Pyles, James Swenskie, Natalie Rogers, Joshua Hymes, Andrew Lowther. Heat 1: Keene. Heat 2: Swenskie.

Hot Mods (7): Tom Sigler, Dusty Harper, Dylan Henkins, Brandon McGrady, Daniel Helmick, Joe Clutter, Ron Gray. Heat: Sigler.

Mini Mods Juniors (4): Brad Currence (5), Cole Tasker, Declan Carpenter. DNS: Kolby Sullivan. Heat: Currence.

Mini Mods Senior (7): Noah Whited (5), Gunner Binns, Brett Howell, Jakob Barrett, Blake Runyon, Logan Beam. DNS: Alexis Cooper. Heat: Whited.