Burdette dominates in taking Red Frederick Memorial race

Submitted photo Chip Frederick, center, and his wife, Lisa, are shown with Colten Burdette in victory lane after the Parkersburg driver captured the third annual Red Frederick Memorial at Elkins Raceway.

KERENS — After taking two weeks to complete the show, the third annual Red Frederick Memorial is in the books.

The weather washed out the features on July 6 and the makeups were the first order of business this past Saturday.

The UMP Modifieds started last week and counted at three laps before Mother Nature halted action. Seth Daniels grabbed the point at the outset with a pack of hungry open wheels behind. Mike Altobelli applied pressure to Daniels but couldn’t make a serious bid for the spot. Daniels claimed the win, while Altobelli had to settle for second. Mark Dickson, Anthony Arbogast and Booper Bare rounded out the top five.

In the Red Frederick Memorial on the third try at green, Colten Burdette blasted to the lead. Burdette set a blistering pace as he built a full straight away cushion by lap four. The Parkersburg driver would lap up to third place en route to the $5,200 victory.

Paul Wilmoth Jr. climbed from ninth to finish second in the Jenkins Ford Super Late Model special. Cody Hardesty was third, Nick Tressler and Billy Holbert were fourth and fifth, respectively.

In the Budweiser Fastrak Late Models, Brent Trimble led early but on lap 14 Chad Boggess broke loose in turn four and clipped Trimble resulting in front end damage on Trimble’s machine. Kyle Lukon inherited the lead and eventual win. Garrett Paugh, Donnie Dotson, Derrick Shaw and Sparky Davisson completed the top five.

James Swenskie claimed his third Holbrook on the Hill Street Stock feature. Swenskie outran Josh Rovello, Jamie Keene, Robin Isner and Joshua Hymes.

The Edge Hot Mods had Tom Sigler setting in victory lane for the second time this year. Sigler bested Kevin Dotson, Dusty Harper, Ethan Boram and Mackenzie Dotson.

In the only feature completed on July 6 — the Mini Mod Junior class — Brad Currence won his eighth straight ahead of Kolby Sullivan, Cole Tasker, Kristopher Wyatt and Declan Carpenter.

Noah Whited captured his seventh first-place trophy in the Mini Mod Senior class. Gunner Binns, Brett Howell, Blake Runyon, Jakob Barrett and Alexis Cooper filled out the order.

The regularly scheduled night action began almost where the makeup left off. In the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models, Burdette again took command. The difference was Wilmoth Jr. stayed within striking distance, but couldn’t quite make it stick. Burdette doubled on the night. Wilmoth had to settle for second again. Tyler Bare, Shane Hitt and Holbert were third through fifth.

Trimble again paced the field in the Budweiser Fastrak Late Models. The outcome was better this time as Trimble grabbed his first checkerboard of the season. Kyle Lukon would cross in second. Paugh was third, Dotson fourth and Shaw fifth.

Easiest the best race of the night, the UMP Modifieds, had no less than five cars battling for the front spot. Altobelli, Mark Dickson, Booper Bare, Seth Daniels and Mitch Thomas were putting on a show. But on lap three, Dickson slowed with mechanical problems stopping action. When racing resumed again, two and three wide racing thrilled the hillside. With war raging behind him, Altobelli began to walk away from the field for the checkerboard. Jamie McCloud charged to second while Daniels crossed the line in third. Phill Jeffries fell back early but clawed back to fourth and Bare completed the top five.

Jason Ammons grabbed his third checkerboard in the Holbrook on the Hill Street stocks. Following Ammons across the line were Josh Rovello, Jamie Keene, Randy Bohan and Joshua Hymes.

In the final race of the night and winning his second event of the evening, Tom Sigler finished ahead of Ethan Boram, Dustin Isner, Kevin Dotson and Dusty Harper in the Edge Hot Mods.

Coming this Saturday night, the ninth annual Richard Skidmore Memorial worth a cool $5,000 to the Jenkins Ford Super Late Model winner is on tap. Also the 2019 class of the “Wall of Legends” induction and the annual gigantic firework display.

Gates open at 3 p.m. for the car show and mingling. Dinner for inductees and family is set for 4 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 5 p.m.


Red Fredrick Memorial (21): Colten Burdette, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Cody Hardesty, Nick Tressler, Billy Holbert, Bob Gordon, Matt Sponaugle, Derek Rogers, Shaun Poling, Steve Wilmoth, Logan Hitt, Ace Howdershelt, Shane Hitt, Dusty Swecker, Travis Stickley, Tim Senic, Tyler Bare. DNS: Jacob Hawkins, Ryan Montgomery, Henry Hornsby III, Jason Covert. Dash; Stickley. Heat 1: Covert. Heat 2: Burdette. Heat 3: Stickley.

Jenkins Ford Super Late Models (23): Colten Burdette, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Tyler Bare, Shane Hitt, Billy Holbert, D Jay Miller, Steve Wilmoth, Cody Hardesty, Derek Rogers, Dylan Lewis, Cody Rogers, Shaun Poling, Matt Sponaugle, Chad Judy, Ace Howdershelt, Bob Gordon, Ronnie Tincher, Wade Sigler, Travis Stickley, Nick Tressler, Logan Hitt, Dusty Swecker. DNS: Tim Senic. Heat 1: Burdette. Heat 2; Bare. Heat 3: Miller. Heat 4: P. Wilmoth Jr.

Budweiser Fastrak Late Models (makeup) (16): Kyle Lukon, Garrett Paugh, Donnie Dotson, Derrick Shaw. Sparky Davisson, Luke Hyre, Chandi Currence, Chad Boggess, Richard Frazier, Troy Frazier, Jason Skipper, Brent Trimble. DNS; Trey Watson, Michael Bland, A J Spagnuolo, Garrett Jones. Heat 1: Trimble. Heat 2: Lukon. Heat 3: Spagnuolo

Budweiser Fastrak Late Models (15): Brent Trimble, Kyle Lukon, Garrett Paugh, Donnie Dotson, Derrick Shaw, Sparky Davisson, Hayden Jacobs, Troy Frazier, Luke Hyre, Tyler Foster, Jason Sipper, Chandi Currence, Chad Boggess, Kaitlyn Frazier, Mike Sturms. Heat 1: Trimble. Heat 2: Paugh. Heat 3: Shaw.

UMP Modified (makeup) (24): Seth Daniels, Mike Altobelli, Mark Dickson, Anthony Arbogast, Booper Bare, Larry Yanero, Matthew Chenoweth, Kurt Rogers, Larrry Atha, Phill Jeffries, Randy Bise, Mitch Thomas, Dave Defibaugh, Kenny Rowback, Jamie McCloud, Robin Lashley. DNS; Brad Harris, Drake Troutman, Daniel Hill, Barry Braydon, Kenny Rogers, Rich Michael, Joe Meadows, Chad Roush. Heat 1: Daniels. Heat 2: Altobelli. Heat 3: Thomas

UMP Modifieds (22): Michael Altobelli, Jamie McCloud, Seth Daniels, Phill Jeffries, Booper Bare, Mitch Thomas, Kurt Rogers, Presley Wilt, Robin Lashley, Mike Murphy, Tyler Payne, Michael Moreland, Matthew Chenoweth, Jacob Marker, Larry Atha, Mark Dickson, Larry Yanero. DNS: Anthony Arbogast, Kenny Rowback, Sam Henderson, Dave Defibaugh, Randy Bise. Heat 1: Altobelli. Heat 2: Dickson. Heat 3: Thomas. Heat 4: Bare

Holbrook on the Hill Street Stocks (makeup) (9): James Senskie, Josh Rovello, Jamie Keene, Robin Isner, Joshua Hymes, Todd Simmons, Josh Sigler

Holbrook on the Hill Street Stocks (10): Jason Ammons, Josh Rovello, Jamie Keene, Randy Bohan, Joshua Hymes, Nathan Cowger, Robin Isner. DNS: Josh Sigler. Heat 1: Rovello. Heat 2: Keene

Edge Hot Mods (makeup) (12): Tom Sigler, Kevin Dotson, Dusty Harper, Ethan Boram, Mackenzie Dotson, Daniel Helmick, Michael Cromer, Tim Dennison. DNS; Steve Magyar, John Magyar, Steven Dotson, B J Dennis. Heat 1: S. Dotson. Heat 2: Sigler

Edge Hot Mods (12): Tom Sigler, Ethan Boram, Dustin Isner, Kevin Dotson, Dusty Harper, Michael Cromer, Daniel Helmick, Santino Loretta, Kodi Tincher, Mackenzie Dotson, Tim Dennison. Heat 1: Sigler. Heat 2: Dotson