Harman and Pendleton lead squads

All-Potomac Valley Conference boys basketball teams released

The Inter-Mountain file photo Pendleton County’s Bailey Thompson, shown during a game against Tygarts Valley from earlier this year, was named the PVC (Class A large schools) player of the year.

HARMAN — Harman and Pendleton County led the all-Potomac Valley Conference boys basketball teams recently released.

Harman had three players on the 1A (small-schools squad) in seniors Brayden Huffman and Shane Varner, along with junior Clayson Knotts.

The rest of the team includes Union sophomores Kenneth Adams and Devin Gaither, and Paw Paw seniors Dylan Moreland and Colby Ridgeway.

Darrell Barnett of team champion Harman was the coach of the year.

Barnett guided the Panthers to a 14-8 record and WVHIT D2 title this past season.


Pendleton County, meanwhile, placed Bailey Thompson and Josh Alt on the Class A big-schools team.

Thompson, a junior, was the player of the year.

Tucker County’s Wayne Betler and Zach Colebank also earned spots.

The rest of the team includes East Hardy’s Christian Dove and Seth Smith, and Moorefield’s Chase Vance and Thomas Williams.

Pendleton County’s Ryan Lambert was tabbed the coach of the year after the Wildcats posted an undefeated record in earning their first state tournament appearance in school history.

Pendleton County, which defeated Trinity in co-regional action, has a 23-0 record.

The girls and boys state tournaments have been postponed due coronavirus concerns.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)