5 individuals, 1 team to enter B-UHS HOF

TENNERTON — The Buckhannon-Upshur High School Athletic Hall of Fame has announced the class of 2020, which includes five individuals and one team.

The individuals include David Boyles, Kate Dobberstein, Lorene George Kerans Bailey, James Johnson and Kip Cottrill, along with the 1965 B-UHS baseball team.

Boyles was a 1989 graduate of B-UHS, where he participated in football, wrestling and track & field. He was a first team all-state and first team all-conference selection in football.

Dobberstein graduated from B-UHS in 1998 and was a member of the soccer and basketball teams. She was a four-year starter in both sports and earned several postseason honors.

Lorene George Kerans Bailey was a 1949 graduate of B-UHS, where she served as a cheerleader from 1946-49. She was selected as Best Cheerleader at the 1949 state basketball tournament.

Johnson served as a coach at B-UHS for 50 consecutive years. He was an assistant boys basketball coach, assistant track coach, head boys track coach and head girls basketball coach. He recently retired as the head cross country coach.

Cottrill is a 1999 graduate of B-UHS.

He participated in football, basketball and baseball, garnering first team all-state honors and all-NCAC laurels in baseball. He went on to play two years at Davis & Elkins College and two years at West Virginia Wesleyan as a shortstop.

The 1965 B-UHS baseball team won the Big 10 Conference and sectional and regional tournaments en route to the state baseball tourney, where they suffered their only loss of the season to Parkersburg High School.

Team members included head coach Larry West, assistant coach Tom Hart, Rick Hollen, Billy Mackey, Junior Armstrong, Dave Corley, Ron Sheets, Mike Gillespie, Joe Tenney, Joe Shaw, Brent Phillips, John Barnes, Bill Shissler, Steve Andrews, Danny Hosaflook, Roger Wilfong, George Leachman and Gary Wamsley.

In year’s past, the B-UHS Athletic Hall of Fame banquet is held in October

Due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 pandemic, the class of 2020 will be inducted on April 10, 2021, at B-UHS.

Complete resumes with pictures of the five individuals and the 1965 team will be published prior to the banquet.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today