Three area cheerleaders earn All-Big Conference honors

Elkins High’s Martin, B-U’s Given and PB’s Knotts named to squad


FAIRMONT — Elkins High School’s Tessa Martin, Buckhannon-Upshur’s Taylor Given and Philip Barbour’s Desiree Knotts have been chosen to the All-Big 10 Conference cheer team.

The remainder of the squad includes East Fairmont’s Hanna Carpenter and Samantha Crookshanks, Fairmont Senior’s Gracie Lamb, Paytyn Neal and Avery Guerreri, Grafton’s Madelyn Countryman and Isabella Collins, Lincoln’s Paige McGee, Katie Swiger and McKinnley Riley, North Marion’s Edith Watson, Preston’s Heidi Gidley and Natalie Stemple and Robert C. Byrd’s Alianna Shuttleworth, Anna Swiger, Kynzi Waller and Jadeah Lownesberry.

Nathy Janes of Class AA state champion Fairmont Senior was named coach of the year.

The other state champions were Wheeling Park in Class AAA and Man in single-A.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $3.92/week.

Subscribe Today