Election filing period begins on Monday

ELKINS — The filing period to run for office in the 2020 election in West Virginia is set to begin Monday.

The candidate filing period for county offices starts at 8 a.m. Monday and will end Jan. 25, while write-in candidate deadlines are March 20 for the primary election and Sept. 25 for the general election.

Randolph County positions up for election are as follows:

The Randolph County Commission seat for the Tygart District, which is currently occupied by Commissioner Chris See. The filing fee to run for this position is $406.56.

The Randolph County Sheriff position, currently filled by Mark Brady, who has served two terms and is, therefore, ineligible to seek another term in the position. The filing fee to run for sheriff is $495.26.

The Randolph County Prosecuting Attorney, currently occupied by Michael Parker. The filing fee to run for this office is $1,057.28.

The Randolph County Assessor position, currently filled by Phyllis Yokum. The filing fee to run for assessor is $495.26.

The Magistrate Judge position, which is currently filled by Mike Dyer, who was appointed after the resignation of George M. “Mike” Riggleman last. The filing fee to run for magistrate is $575.

Two Board of Education seats, currently occupied by BOE President Amanda Smith of the Tygart District and Vice President Rachel Anger of the Elkins District. The filing fee to run for a BOE seat is $25.

The Randolph County Surveyor position, currently occupied by Jack Isner. The filing fee to run for surveyor is $10.

West Virginia’s primary election is set for May 12, while the general election is scheduled for Nov. 3. Early voting periods will occur from April 29 to May 7 for the primary and from Oct. 21-31 for the general election.

Voter registration deadlines are April 21 for the primary and Oct. 13 for the general.

Many offices, both national and state-wide, are also up for election on the 2020 ballot, which include the federal seats of President of the United States, U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives, and West Virginia offices of Governor, Secretary of State, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture, Attorney General and Justice for the Supreme Court of Appeals.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)