Four running for Belington mayor on March 2 ballot

ELKINS — Four candidates are on the ballot for mayor in the March 2 Belington Municipal Election.

Incumbent Mayor Maureen J. Lasky-Setchell will be challenged by Harold L. Kittle, Cherri L. Sturm and Thomas J. Watson Sr.

Candidates for four Belington City Council seats are also on the ballot.

Running for the Ward 1 city council seat are Timothy M. Ray and Marshall L. Reed.

Competing for the Ward II seat are Dana Booth and Joshua L. Wamsley.

In Ward III, John S. White, Billie J. Hunt, Mack Davis and Edwin G. Goddard III are on the ballot seeking the city council seat.

In the running for the Ward IV city council seat are Katherine Wolpert and Douglas E. Cutlip.

A Meet the Candidate event is set for 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Civic Center in Belington.

The public may attend the event, while adhering to social distancing and mask regulations. The event will also be streamed live on Facebook, officials said.

Candidates will be available to answer pre-selected questions from the public, officials said. If you’d like to submit a question you may do so in one of the following ways:

• Email your questions to Lori Wetzel at lwetzelnails@gmail.com;

• Or put your questions in a sealed envelope bearing Lori Wetzel’s name on the outside and leave it in the drop box at Belington City Hall.

Questions cannot be directed toward individual candidates. You can submit questions to council candidates or to mayoral candidates.

During the event, each council candidate will be given the opportunity to answer selected questions. Each mayoral candidate will be given the chance to answer selected mayoral questions. Please specify which group your question is geared toward.

For more information, email lwetzelnails@gmail.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today