Belington elects Sturm as new mayor

BELINGTON — The voters of Belington elected a new mayor in Tuesday’s municipal election, based on unofficial election results.

Incumbent Mayor Maureen J. Lasky-Setchell was defeated decisively by challenger Cherri L. Sturm.

Sturm received 229 votes to Lasky-Setchell’s 83. Also on the ballot were Thomas J. Watson Sr., who garnered 11 votes, and Harold L. Kittle, who received 4.

In the race for the Ward 1 city council seat, Marshall L. Reed was the winner, receiving 69 votes, while Timothy M. Ray totaled 19 votes.

The Ward II council seat race was remarkably close, as Dana Booth received 35 votes and Joshua L. Wamsley gathered 34.

In Ward III, Billie J. Hunt won the council spot with 47 votes, while Mack Davis received 36, Edwin G. Goddard III tallied 3 and John S. White received 2 votes.

The Ward IV council seat was won by Katherine Wolpert, with 54 votes, while Douglas E. Cutlip gathered 23.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today