MEC announces scholar finalists

D&E’s Weaver and Buck-Gramcko in the running for awards

BRIDGEPORT — The Mountain East Conference on Tuesday announced the male and female finalists for the league’s annual Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

Each institution in the MEC selected one female and one male as finalists for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, which recognizes outstanding academic and athletic performance for the previous academic year. Each finalist will receive a plaque.

The criteria to be nominated are: (1) a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average; (2) participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests in a MEC-sponsored sport; (3) minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The female finalists are: Leah Foster (Concord University, Soccer), Raleighanne Weaver (Davis & Elkins, Volleyball), Sierra Kotchman (Fairmont State, Basketball), Gwen Schemm (Frostburg State, Soccer), Victoria Lewis (Glenville State, Track & Field), Mary Kate McHugh (Notre Dame, Volleyball), Kelsey Matusic (Charleston, Volleyball), Courtney Niesen (Urbana, Volleyball), Caitlin deVries (West Liberty, Soccer), Kiersten Hensley (W.Va. State, Tennis), Madison LaPole (W.Va. Wesleyan, Soccer) and Haley Kramer (Wheeling, Volleyball)

The male finalists are: Nathan Neff (Concord, Baseball), Felix Buck-Gramcko (Davis & Elkins, Cross Country/Track & Field), Tyler Virtue (Fairmont State, Swimming), Vincent Persichetti (Frostburg State, Football), Hegel Augustin (Glenville State, Basketball), Tony Vezzetti (Notre Dame, Wrestling), Brant Grisel (Charleston, Football), Mikal Toliver (Urbana, Football), Brandon Morrison (West Liberty, Football), Jake Harms (W.Va. State, Football), Luca Falconieri (W.Va. Wesleyan, Soccer) and Andres Da Silva (Wheeling, Soccer).

The Scholar-Athlete of the Year is determined by a vote of the administrators in the Mountain East Conference and the league office. The winners will be announced later this month.

Additionally, the MEC will also be announcing several of its annual awards over the coming weeks, including Male Sports Coach of the Year, Female Sports Coach of the Year, Male Athlete of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year.

Previous Winners


2015: Conor Branson (Charleston, Soccer)

2016: Conor Branson (Charleston, Soccer)

2017: Dan Monteroso (West Liberty, Basketball)

2018: Dan Monteroso (West Liberty, Basketball)

2019: John Cominsky (Charleston, Football)


2015: Nichole Perry (Charleston, Basketball)

2016: Lauren Langenderfer (Notre Dame, Basketball)

2017: Kayce Krucki (Wheeling Jesuit, Volleyball)

2018: Mackenzie Harrison (Fairmont State, Volleyball)

2019: Kristine Gegeshidze (Charleston, Tennis)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)